DIY: Painted Notebook Cover!!

Ok, so how many of you out there just had to  buy those notebooks at Walmart for 50 cents that look like your TV just went fuzzy? Well, me, of course. So today we’re gonna make that notebook  look from fuzzy to fabulous. How, you ask?

FullSizeRender (19)

 

Supplies Needed:

a Fuzzy Notebook

some Acrylic or Watercolor Paint (I used acrylic, Apple Barrel candy pink, marsh green, and pumpkin orange. Ceramcoat Caribbean blue, and brilliant blue. Liquitex Basics Cadmium Yellow Light Hue, and Titanium White. Last but not least Hand Made Modern lady bug red.

a Spray Bottle full of tap water

a Palette or Paper Plate

a Cup of tap water for rinsing your brush

Acrylic or Watercolor Brushes (using acrylics, I used a 3/4″ Flat Stroke Brush, a 1/2″ Flat Stroke Brush both by Snap! and a small round, about a number 4)

Mixed Media Paper or Watercolor Paper is using watercolors (using acrylics, I used Canson Mixed Media Paper found at Walmart)

Sizing The Paper:

I first measured my notebook, and then fit my paper over top like s o. I ended up using a 9″ x 12″ piece of paper.

FullSizeRender (6)

Now fold the paper inwards once your paper is positioned the same as the picture above.

FullSizeRender (7)

Your paper should mimic the one above. Make fold marks in your paper! Now unfold the paper and set the notebook not too far away. You should see a square in the upper and lower corner of one side.

FullSizeRender (9)

I want you to cute the square away. If this does not make any sense to you, you should have a scrap square after this step.

FullSizeRender (10)

Once both squares are cut, it should look like the picture above. Now cut two small triangles out of each square like so.

FullSizeRender (11)

Your end result of cutting two triangles out of four corners it should look like this.

FullSizeRender (12)

A.K.A. pure beauty. Now we’re going to unfold this from the notebook and lye it flat on a hard surface. It should look like this:

IMG_0926

*****VERY IMPORTANT******

While you are painting the paper should look exactly like the picture above, with the straight section of the paper to the left of you. If not, your painting will turn out upside down. Now you are free to paint! I am not going to do a full length tutorial on painting this as well, but I will show you the technique I used to create my yellow sky.

First, I am going to lightly spritz the paper with my spray bottle, this is just so my paints will glide better on the paper surface. Now, using my 3/4 flat stroke brush, I am mixing my cadmium yellow light hue paint and my titanium white paint together, making a very light yellow. I am going to coat the entire piece of paper with this shade.

IMG_0927

Next, I’m gonna take my brush and just dip the very edge of the brush bristles with this white like so.

IMG_0928

Now, with my hand very parallel to the ceiling, I’m going to paint in slashes of white like so. Don’t worry, we are going to soften this, it won’t be our finished sky.

FullSizeRender (13)

Once you’ve done that, take your brush (wipe off the excess paint with a paper towel) and soften the white streaks by just laying your brush hairs on the wet white paint. This will soften the white streak, and blend it with your sky like so.

IMG_0931

IMG_0932

There’s that sky! Now I just added in some simple grass and flowers with my smaller round.

Once the painting is 100% dry, coat a thin layer of modpodge onto the paper. This ensures the painting won’t get smudged, or dirty, or have any water damage.

Once that is fully dry put a thin layer of school glue on the cover of your notebook and then place the back of your artwork on the glue like so.

IMG_0935

Now open your notebook so you can see the back of the card stock cover like so.

FullSizeRender (16)

Now brush on a thin layer of modpodge onto the edges of the back. Press down the flaps, it should stick.

FullSizeRender (17)

FullSizeRender (18)

Now let this dry fully (overnight) before use. Voila!

If you enjoyed this, please like and share. If you have any questions or comments, please leave them in the comment section below by clicking on the post.

Yours Truly, The Blue Eyed Crafter

2 thoughts on “DIY: Painted Notebook Cover!!

Leave a Reply

